RSS

Wild at Heart (A Book Review)

30 Apr

This review is for the book, Wild at Heart, by John Eldredge published by Thomas Nelson.

The Truthinator is scratching his head over this one. It is a man’s book. It appeals to men and their desire to ‘be men’ instead of being what is politically correct. Eldridge makes some very astute points. He is correct about much of the information he deals with. Society does not allow men to be men and then society turns against men for not being men… 

 He also deals with men’s relationships with others and gives some pointers for men to understand themselves and for others to understand men. Is he always correct? Maybe. I think he is pretty close to being correct about much of the problems faced by men and those who love them and he is correct in giving perspective about why things are the way they are for modern-day men.

The reason I am scratching my head is that I just don’t get his take on God and the Biblical examples he cites to prove some of his more spiritual points. Some of the proofs are easy enough to see but others are a little out there (in my opinion). I am not sure his take on God and how God interacts with mankind is totally accurate.

This book is a little psychological, a little sociological, and a little philosophical. It points out the problems faced by today’s man very well. The spiritual guidance it gives is a little tricky however. I would only recommend this book to those who are Biblically spiritual and mature. I see more of a worldly perspective given by the author than a Godly one as defined in the Bible. I’m also not sure the God spoken of in this book is the God of the Bible.

The Truthinator conditionally recommends this book to the Biblical and spiritually mature only.

Thomas Nelson Publishing supplied this book to me free of charge in exchange for my reviewing it. They did not attempt to influence my review in any way.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Wild at Heart (A Book Review)

  1. Manfred

    May 27, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    You were far kinder to this wretched book than I could bear to be: http://brogdensmuse.menofhonorministry.org/BookReviews/Wild.htm

     
    • Truthinator

      May 28, 2010 at 4:14 pm

      Welcome, Manfred. I was probably too kind but I think the book is pretty good at pointing out some of the frustrations felt by men who are being squeezed into a box by political and immoral winds of change. After that however, there is not much value to what Eldrege writes IMHO. That is why I wrote the conditional recommendation. I did not mean to imply that people who are Biblically and spiritually mature can learn much from the book other than getting a view of what I consider to be a worldly perspective from the author. The author’s view of who God is is puzzling to me. It seemed strange…

       
  2. Manfred

    May 28, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Truthy,

    Greetings! The author’s view of God is wretched and his view of man is way off base. I also wrote a short review of the first edition years ago: http://www.menofhonorministry.org/Discipleship/WildatHeart.pdf

     
  3. Pam S.

    June 9, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I would say don’t recommend it at all. There are too many other things to occupy your time reading. Try salvationbygrace.org. Jim McClarty has a great Q&A and hours of tapes that teach the Scriptures in context,etc.
    It is a great website, really.

     
    • Truthinator

      July 2, 2010 at 1:28 pm

      I don’t totally disagree with you but I think a spiritually mature person can get a pretty good idea of how post-modern pagans think and behave by reading this book. I do not suggest taking the author’s iseas to heart but to gain an understanding of how the outside world thinks. Forewarned is forearmed… That’s all.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

